The sightseeing of the renovated buildings is a unique experience of its own. They demonstrate the architectural and artistic progress at the site of the so-called Olomouc castle on Wenceslas hill throughout the last millennium - from the remains of the royal palace through the high Romanesque, Gothic and Renaissance periods to the late Baroque and Rococo interiors.
The permanent exhibition of the Museum introduces the visitors the spiritual culture of the Olomouc Archdiocese. A picture gallery shows marvelous paintings collected by Olomouc bishops since the 16th century. A concert hall called "Mozarteum" is part of the premises – the name was chosen to commemorate the stay of the famous composer at this place.
The core of the Olomouc Archdiocesan Museum is the former residence of Olomouc capitular deans to which, in the course of the centuries, other buildings were added. The land for the construction of the deanery in the area of the ducal castle was given to the capitular dean Bartholomew in 1267 by King Ottokar II of Bohemia.
The early Gothic burgravery was completely rebuilt in 1524 and after the demise of Olomouc castle in the 16th century the palace building of the burgravery was connected to the adjacent capitular deanery. The Baroque reconstruction was completed in the middle of the 18th century.
The initiator of the last reconstruction in a historical style was Dean Robert Lichnovský (1868 - 1879). The work was supervised by architect Franz Kottas, who remodeled the interiors of the deanery (in particular the Crest Hall and St. Barbora’s Chapel), rebuilt the loggia in the central part of the main wall and restored the facing wall of the carriage house.
The whole museum complex underwent a complex conservation reconstruction from 1998 to 2006. Part of the project of the Prague architectural office HŠH architekti was, besides building offices, depositories, a photo studio and a refinishing workshop, the reconstruction of the building of the capitular deanery and its functional link to the Romanesque episcopal palace. HŠH architekti are the authors of the design of the architectural form of the permanent exhibition of the Archdiocesan Museum.